Dean Calvo

Dean Calvo, recently appointed the Vice President for Business Affairs and Treasurer at Scripps College, has served as Information Exchange Program (IEP) Chairperson since the 2011 Portland Annual Conference.

As IEP Chair Dean is responsible for business partner relationships and engages firms in the higher education industry space as sponsors and exhibitors at WACUBO's Annual Conference. In other words, Dean's efforts are essential for underwriting and delivering Annual Conference programs and activities. Dean also serves as co-chair of WACUBO's CDRIC Committee.

Dean is a member of WACUBO's Board of Directors, where he participates in leadership of all of WACUBO's activities.

Lisa Frace

Lisa Frace has been the Associate Vice President, Planning and Budget for Arizona State University since 2005 and began her WACUBO volunteer service in 2011. She first served on the WACUBO Comprehensive/Doctoral Institutions and Research Institutions Committee (CDRIC), as well as on the 2013 and 2014 Program Committees for the Annual Conference as the CDRIC liaison. Lisa is currently serving on the 2015 Program and Host Committees for the Annual Conference. In 2013 Lisa joined the Professional Development Workshop Committee as liaison to the CDRIC committee, before becoming committee chair in 2014. During 2014-15, Lisa led a year of innovation and growth of the Professional Development Workshops Committee. Hawaii Pacific Rim series, Predictive Analytics and Data Mining for Business Officers, and other groundbreaking workshops are the testament of her leadership and contributions. Lisa also serves as an instructor for the 3C's of Budgeting workshop.

Jan Parten

Jan Parten first volunteered for WACUBO in 1997 when she served on the Host Committee for Anchorage Annual Conference. At the time, she was working at the University of Alaska Anchorage as their Human Resources Director. Jan noted that her biggest contribution that year was to sell an excess number of WACUBO t-shirts to complete strangers staying at the Anchorage Hilton. Apparently, the purchasers thought WACUBO was some type of Alaska Native Tribe! Beginning with the 2007 Annual Conference in Reno through 2014 Annual Conference in Las Vegas, Jan has served on the Program Committee for each year. Watching the Annual Conference Program evolve over the past 8 years has been a "labor of love" for her. With the inclusion of Jim Collins on the Program for the 2015 Annual Conference in Tucson is her dream come true. She stated that "the camaraderie built over the years with so many wonderful past Program Committee Members makes all the hours volunteered so very worth it. Who would imagine an organization called WACUBO could be such a great place to be a volunteer over and over again?" Jan currently serves on the WACUBO Professional Development Steering Committee. She is also a Program Committee member once again for the 2016 Annual Conference in San Francisco.

Patricia Putnam

Patricia Putnam, who recently retired from the position of Associate Vice President, Business Services at the University of San Diego has been volunteering at WACUBO since 1990. She has been on the last 21 Host Committees (since 1993) with two stints as Chair of the Information Exchange Committee from 1998-2000 and 2008-2010. Pat held the position of President of WACUBO in 2002-03 and was on the NACUBO Board of Directors from 2002-2004. Even in retirement she tirelessly continues to volunteer to help organize the annual meeting.

Stuart Roberts

Stuart retired a couple of years ago as the Associate Vice Chancellor for Financial Services at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, but his retirement then did not include stepping away from WACUBO until now. For seven years Stuart filled the demanding role of Communications Director. This has meant that Stuart managed the website, edited newsletters, distributed emails to WACUBO's membership, served as database manager and information advisor, designed and distributed surveys, participated in Board meetings, and each year at the Annual Conference did any job that needed to be done, usually before anyone could ask. Stuart's calm demeanor and "can do" attitude will be sorely missed.

Mike Unebasami

Mike Unebasami has been a WACUBO volunteer since 1983. He has held various positions on the Board of Directors, including serving as Secretary and, in 2007-08, as President. Mike has been the Assistant Chair for the Host Committee (1984), the Chair of the Host Committee (2004), and for both 2014 and 2015 is a member of the Annual Conference Host Committee.

Mike has served on various committees of the Board, including the 2013 Program Committee and the 2013-14 Volunteer Engagement Committee.

Jean Vock

Jean Vock has been a volunteer and leader since 2001. She served as WACUBO's Treasurer from 2009-14, when she was responsible to prepare financial statements, issue checks, maintain the general ledger, and insure proper controls and procedures. The role of Treasurer has been one of WACUBO's very most demanding; the Board recently decided to outsource many of the functions Jean performed.

Jean also has served WACUBO as a member of the Board (ongoing), Chair of the Audit Committee (2006-07), and is currently the 2015 Program Committee Chair and 2nd Vice President. In this role Jean is on track to become President in 2016-17.

Jeff West

Jeffrey West is Associate VP for Finance at University of Utah - the 4th WACUBO institution he has served over his career in higher education. He has been a WACUBO volunteer consistently since 1998, when he was a member of the Professional Development Workshops Committee until 2004. During that time he began teaching the "Basic Fund Accounting" workshop, and later "Intermediate Fund Accounting". Currently, he teaches "Academic & Unit Business Officers" (since 2008), and "Accounting & Reporting: Beyond the Basics" (since 2012). Jeff remains active in NACUBO, serving on several committees and teaching workshops. In 2009, he was the recipient of NACUBO's Professional Development Award. After his stint on the WACUBO PDC, he served on the Board of Directors for three years, and was the Host Chair for WACUBO's Annual Meeting in Salt Lake City in 2009. Since then he has served on three Program Committees. During his years on the Board, Jeff took a personal interest in getting more academic and unit business officers involved in WACUBO. Jeff enjoys his association with WACUBO and has made many friends as a result of his volunteer activities.

Nicholle Zarkower

Nicholle Zarkower began her stint as a WACUBO volunteer on the Comprehensive/Doctoral/Research Institutions Committee (CDRIC) in 2010. She then joined the Professional Development Committee, affectionately known as WACUBO's workhorse committee, as the CDRIC liaison for two years before becoming the co-chair of the Professional Development Workshops Committee in 2013. Now, Nicholle is the inaugural chair of the Research Committee, whose mission is to catalyze WACUBO's effort to become a data-driven organization. This role is perfect for Nicholle, who is a "data geek" at heart!

Interested in becoming a volunteer? Complete the volunteer form.